

Secretariat: I/O Dr A.O.Odeyemi Department of Medicine, Osun State University, Osogbo, Osun State, Nigeria

Email: nigerianthoracicsociety@gmail.com

18<sup>th</sup> November, 2022

President: Prof Prince Ele Dept. of Medicine, Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hospital, Nnewi, Anambra state.

Vice President North: Prof Ahmed Hammangabdo Dept. of Medicine, University of Maiduguri Teaching Hospital, Maiduguri, Borno State.

Vice President South: Prof Anietimfon Etiuma Department of Surgery, University of Calabar Teaching Hospital, Calabar, Cross-River State.

Secretary-General: Dr Abiona Odeyemi Department of Medicine, Osun State University, Osogbo, Osun State.

Assistant Secretary-General: Dr Olufemi Ojo Department of Medicine, Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja, Lagos State

Treasurer: Dr Adaeze Ayuk Department of Paediatrics, University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Ituku-Ozalla, Enugu State.

Membership Secretary: Dr Obianuju Ozoh Department of Medicine, Lagos University Teaching Hospital, Idi-Araba, Lagos State.

Publicity Secretary: Dr Modupe Ogunsina Department of Medicine, Barau Dikko Teaching Hospital, Kaduna, Kaduna State.

Ex-Officio 1 Prof Etete Peters Department of Medicine, University Of Uyo Teaching Hospital, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.

Ex-Officio 2 Dr Victor Umoh, Department of Medicine, University Of Uyo Teaching Hospital, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State

Editor-In-Chief Prof Chibueze Njoku, Department of Medicine, University of Calabar Teaching Hospital, Calabar, Cross River State. COMMUNIQUE OF THE NIGERIAN THORACIC SOCIETY ISSUED AT THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING AND SCIENTIFIC CONFERENCE HELD AT HAWTHORN SUITES, GARKI 2 ABUJA, FCT FROM 17<sup>TH</sup> TO 18<sup>TH</sup> NOVEMBER 2022.

GERIAN HORACIC

## Preamble

The Annual General Meeting and Scientific Conference of the Nigerian Thoracic Society (NTS) tagged "Kaduna/Abuja 2022" took place at Hawthorn Suites, Garki 2 Abuja, from 17<sup>th</sup> to 18<sup>th</sup> November 2022. It was a hybrid meeting that ensured that members who were unable to attend physically also participated fully. The theme of the conference, "The Environment and Lung Health" was chosen to bring to limelight the current challenges facing both Nigeria and the whole world as we grapple with climate change and air pollution, and occupational related lung diseases.

The Guest of Honour was the Medical Director Federal Medical Centre Jabi, Abuja, Prof. Saad Aliyu Ahmed who also represented Honourable Minister of Health, Dr Osagie Ehanire. The Guest Speaker was Dr Iroezindu Israel the Medical Director, Occupational Health Corporate & Industrial Medical Services (CIMS).

## **Observations:**

- 1. Air pollution continues to be a menace to our society largely as a result of human activities.
- 2. Comprehensive and coherent implementation of respiratory protection programmes (RPP) have remained unrealizable.
- 3. Data based evidence are required to shape workplace and public health policies and surveillance to promote lung health.
- 4. Multi-disciplinary approach is required in the prevention of environmental air pollution particularly at the work place.
- 5. Although workplace laws on respiratory protection are in existence, many employees and employers are not aware of these laws and the laws are usually not enforced.

## **Resolutions:**

- 1. Government is encouraged to do more to stem the tide of air pollution in our society.
- 2. Government is encouraged to put in place respiratory protection programmes in the workplace.
- 3. Government should ensure monitoring of work environment to ensure compliance with the existing laws which protect workers from work-related air pollution and subsequently occupational lung diseases.



Secretariat: I/O Dr A.O.Odeyemi Department of Medicine, Osun State University, Osogbo, Osun State, Nigeria

# Email: nigerianthoracicsociety@gmail.com

President: Prof Prince Ele Dept. of Medicine, Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hospital, Nnewi, Anambra state.

Vice President North: Prof Ahmed Hammangabdo Dept. of Medicine, University of Maiduguri Teaching Hospital, Maiduguri, Borno State.

Vice President South: Prof Anietimfon Etiuma Department of Surgery, University of Calabar Teaching Hospital, Calabar, Cross-River State.

Secretary-General: Dr Abiona Odeyemi Department of Medicine, Osun State University, Osogbo, Osun State.

Assistant Secretary-General: Dr Olufemi Ojo Department of Medicine, Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja, Lagos State

Treasurer: Dr Adaeze Ayuk Department of Paediatrics, University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Ituku-Ozalla, Enugu State.

Membership Secretary: Dr Obianuju Ozoh Department of Medicine, Lagos University Teaching Hospital, Idi-Araba, Lagos State.

Publicity Secretary: Dr Modupe Ogunsina Department of Medicine, Barau Dikko Teaching Hospital, Kaduna, Kaduna State.

Ex-Officio 1 Prof Etete Peters Department of Medicine, University Of Uyo Teaching Hospital, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.

Ex-Officio 2 Dr Victor Umoh, Department of Medicine, University Of Uyo Teaching Hospital, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State

Editor-In-Chief Prof Chibueze Njoku, Department of Medicine, University of Calabar Teaching Hospital, Calabar, Cross River State.

- 4. Government is encouraged to equip our hospitals with comprehensive lung disorder diagnostic and dust sampling capabilities.
- 5. Government is encouraged to sensitize the general populace on the importance of workplace protection from environmental air pollution.

### **Appreciation:**

On behalf of the entire membership of the NTS, the President and Executive committee of the NTS hereby expresses their heartfelt gratitude to the following distinguished individuals and organizations;

1. Honourable Minister of Health, Dr Osagie Ehanire

GERIAN HORAGIG

- 2. Prof. Saad Aliyu Ahmed, Medical Director, Federal Medical Centre, Jabi, Abuja.
- 3. Dr Iroezindu Israel, the Medical Director, Occupational Health, Corporate & Industrial Medical Services (CIMS).
- 4. The Local Organizing committee of the Kaduna / Abuja 2022 NTS conference and;
- 5. Our sponsors too numerous to mention.

Prof P U Ele

President

P---

Dr Abiona Odeyemi

Secretary General